

## MATURITY AND CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF HOLDERS OF THE 2003-2008 UNSECURED LOAN NOTES

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the terms of the instrument (the "Loan Notes Instrument") constituting the 2003-2008 unsecured loan notes (the "Loan Notes") issued by Allied Group Limited (the "Company") on 19th September, 2003, the Loan Notes are due to mature on Friday, 15th August, 2008 (the "Maturity Date"). The Loan Notes will automatically be redeemed on the Maturity Date and a final payment of the principal amount of all the Loan Notes then outstanding together with interest accrued thereon during the period from 1st July, 2008 to 14th August, 2008 (both days inclusive) (the "Final Payment") will be made by the Company on the Maturity Date. All certificates of the Loan Notes shall also be deemed void and cancelled on the Maturity Date.

Holders of the Loan Notes should note that the register of holders of the Loan Notes will be closed for three business days from Tuesday, 12th August, 2008 to Thursday, 14th August, 2008 (both days inclusive), during which period no transfer of the Loan Notes will be registered. All transfers of the Loan Notes accompanied by the relevant certificates of the Loan Notes must be lodged with the Company's registrar, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited of Shops 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Monday, 11th August, 2008. The relevant cheques for the Final Payment will be despatched on the Maturity Date to the registered addresses of the holders of the Loan Notes by ordinary post.

By Order of the Board Allied Group Limited Edwin Lo King Yau Executive Director

Hong Kong, 24th July, 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. Lee Seng Hui (Chief Executive), Edwin Lo King Yau and Mak Pak Hung being the Executive Directors, Mr. Arthur George Dew (Chairman) and Ms. Lee Su Hwei being the Non-Executive Directors, and Messrs. Wong Po Yan, David Craig Bartlett, John Douglas Mackie and Alan Stephen Jones being the Independent Non-Executive Directors.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard"